DENVER – (April 4) Thirty-seven winter Seattle University student-athletes earned Academic All-Western Athletic Conference (WAC) recognition for the 2017-18 school year, released Wednesday. The team includes members of men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s swimming, and men’s and women’s indoor track and field.

To be eligible for the honor, a student-athlete must have completed at least one academic year, have at least a 3.2 cumulative grade-point average and have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's contests. A total of 326 student-athletes across the league were selected this winter. Seattle U ranked third in the conference with its 37 representatives.

Women’s indoor track and field led the way with 11 members on the conference’s academic team. Johanna Erickson, Thea Foulk, Shannan Higgins, Madison Lichter, Laurel Mack-Wilson, Michelle Newblom, Emily O'Hara, Siobhan Rubio, Renee Soliman, Olivia Stein, and Abby Wachter claimed spots for SU. Lichter and Wachter have both tallied three academic honors.

Eight members of women’s swimming were featured, as Maddie Dickman, Julia Gorman, Darian Himes, Madi Lydig, Jenessa Schulte, Margaux Thompson, Paige Treff, and Jayna Van Stone made appearances. Dickman and Treff have both recorded three Academic All-WAC showings, while Lydig and Schulte are both repeat honorees.

Men’s swimming put seven Redhawks on the squad. Jack Baldoni, Austin Barnard, Luke Christensen, Ian Keane, Morgan Montemayor, Julian Morales, and Zach Zenteno were named to the WAC’s team. Barnard, Keane, and Montemayor are two-time honorees.

Men’s indoor track and field landed five on the team, as Eli Boudouris, Tyler Flannery, Sam Golden, Cam Peters, and Matthew Seidel each earned spots. Seidel is a three-time honoree in his Redhawk career, while Boudouris, Flannery, and Peters are both repeat winners.

Women’s basketball seniors Jacinta Beckley and Ashlyn Lewey were honored by the conference. Both have earned the accolade three times in their careers.

For men’s basketball, Mattia Da Campo, Matej Kavas, Morgan Means and Jake Spurgeon each picked up awards. It’s Kavas’ second straight year on the league’s academic list.