SEATTLE (July 24) – Seattle University swimming has completed its Class of 2017, as Coach Craig Nisgor brought in 10 newcomers in the class.

Jacob Goguen and Isaac Parker will join Taj Mercer and John Neton for the men. Emily Bakewell, Allison Plamondon, and Jennifer Wong join Kailey DeLozier, Sherlyn Devadason, and Bryn Lasher on the women’s side.

“This group brings a lot to the table,” said Nisgor. “They have already become a cohesive unit-they know each other and they’re excited to get things going. I’m excited to see what they can do.”

Bakewell is a product of Bear River High in Grass Valley, California. She set school records in both the 200 IM and as a member of the 200 medley relay team. Bakewell earned league MVP honors in 2015 and was a three-time academic all-league recipient in her career. She was a member of Northern Sierra Swimming for seven years.

Plamondon swam all four years at Santa Margarita Catholic High, helping her team win the SS-Division I CIF title four times. She qualified for the individual finals at CIFs as a junior and a senior. Plamondon was named most outstanding in her school’s class three times and earned Academic All-American honors in 2017.

Wong is from Santa Clarita, California. She swam at West Ranch High, where she served as team captain in her senior year. Wong won her team’s Coaches’ Award three times in her career. She also swam for Canyons Aquatic Club for 10 years.

Goguen swam at Joel E. Ferries High in Spokane. He earned most outstanding honors for his club team, Spokane Area, in 2016-17.

Parker is a Mead High product out of Spokane, Washington. He competed with Goguen for Spokane Area, earning Most Outstanding Swimmer recognition in 2015.

Seattle U had another strong season in 2016-17, as both the men and women recorded winning dual records for the first time. The women set 18 program records and featured their first Division I NCAA Championships qualifier (Blaise Wittenauer-Lee). For the men, they claimed 29 all-time top-10 finishes, as Tanner Schelling earned SU’s Male Student-Athlete of the Year Award.