DENVER (April 6) – Seattle University placed 40 student-athletes on the 2017 Winter Academic All-Western Athletic Conference (WAC) Teams, released Thursday. Members of men's and women's basketball, men's and women's swimming, and men's and women's indoor track and field were recognized by the conference.

To be eligible for the honor, a student-athlete must have completed at least one academic year, have at least a 3.2 cumulative grade-point average and have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's contests. A total of 279 student-athletes across the league were selected this winter.

Sandy Dasalla, Johanna EricksonKatie Fleming, Rebecca LassereMadison Lichter, Mandie Maddux, Moira O'Connor Lenth, Lila RiceMandy Rusch, Fiona Smith, Olivia Stein, and Abby Wachter of women's indoor track and field qualified for the team. Fleming, Lassere, Maddux, Rice, and Rusch have taken three academic awards, while Dasalla, Erickson, Lichter, and Wachter are two-time honorees.

For men's indoor track and field, Eli Boudouris, Tyler Flannery, Matthew Seidel, Chay Weaver, and Cam Peters made the squad. Seidel and Weaver were both on the team last year.

Women's basketball landed four student-athletes on the list, as seniors Wilma Afunugo and Delanie Parry joined juniors Ashlyn Lewey and Jacinta Beckley. Afunugo is a three-time honoree, while Beckley, Lewey, and Parry are two-time winners.

For women's swimming, 13 Redhawks were honored. Seniors Emma Foster, Kristin Hoffman, Kaitlyn Overstreet, Annika Perry, Sidney Pinger, Katie Rottman, Kate Sabourin, and Blaise Wittenauer-Lee, along with juniors Maddie Dickman, Madi Lydig, Paige Treff, and sophomores Emily Breyer and Jenessa Schulte all earned accolades. Foster, Hoffman, Overstreet, Pinger, Rottman, Sabourin, and Wittenauer-Lee are three-time recipients, with Dickman and Treff having two awards.

Five male swimmers made the list, as senior Tanner Schelling, juniors Ian Keane and Morgan Montemayor, and sophomores Austin Barnard and Mitchell Crossen were selected. Schelling has now won two academic awards in his career.

For men's basketball, sophomores Zack Moore and Matej Kavas were honored.

More in W. Swimming