2017 BASEBALL SCHEDULE | BUY TICKETS | DONATE

SEATTLE - (Feb. 23) Taking a one weekend break from what would otherwise be 17 straight games at home, the Seattle University baseball team heads to Minneapolis, Minn., for a three-game series against the University of Minnesota Friday, Feb. 23 through Sunday, Feb. 26. The series will kick off the Gophers’ 13-game stretch at U.S. Bank Stadium, home of the Minnesota Vikings.

FOLLOW THE REDHAWKS
Friday, Feb. 24 at Minnesota - 6:30 p.m. CT/4:30 p.m. PT (U.S. Bank Stadium)
Live Stats | Watch on BTN2GO | Listen Live
Saturday, Feb. 25 at Minnesota - 6:00 p.m. CT/4:00 p.m. PT (U.S. Bank Stadium)
Live Stats | Watch on BTN2GO | Listen Live
Sunday, Feb. 26 at Minnesota - 1:00 p.m. CT/11:00 a.m. PT (U.S. Bank Stadium)
Live Stats | Watch on BTN2GO | Listen Live

THE MATCHUPS
Friday - Janson Junk, RHP (SU) vs. Lucas Gilbreath, LHP (MINN)
Saturday - Nick Meservey, LHP (SU) vs. Brett Schulze, RHP (MINN)
Sunday - Jake Prizina, LHP (SU) vs. Toby Anderson, RHP (MINN)

REDHAWK REPORT
• Seattle U opened the 2017 season splitting a four game series with SIUE at Bannerwood Park in Bellevue, Wash.
• The Redhawks had four players hit .400 or better in the opening series including Jack Reisinger (.444), Sean Sutton (.444), Aaron Stroosma (.400) and Austin Lively (.400).
Sean Sutton registered just nine at-bats in the series while also drawing nine walks.
• Stroosma topped the weekend with seven RBIs on seven hits. The redshirt senior also went a perfect 5-of-5 in stolen bases.
Janson Junk started off the season by striking out seven batters in six innings to win game one of the series against SIUE, 4-1.
Nick Meservey tossed four one-hit innings and struck out five batters in his first start of the year.
Dalton Hurd had a solid series in centerfield with a 1.000 fielding percentage, including a diving catch.
Max Modeste had two hits in the series, both home runs.

SERIES HISTORY VS MINNESOTA
• Seattle U has an all-time record of 3-1 against Minnesota. The two teams met four times in 2016 with the Redhawks taking the first three games before the Gophers earned a win in the final match-up. Playing at Edmonds Community College in Lynnwood, Wash., for game one, Seattle U ran away with a 13-3 victory. They would win game two, 5-4 and game three, 4-1, at Bannerwood Park. Minnesota closed out the series with a 12-2 victory.

ABOUT THE GOPHERS
• The Gophers split a rain-shortened season-opening series against UC Irvine, 1-1.
• Minnesota enters the series against Seattle U hitting .351, led by Luke Pettersen who has eight hits in his first nine at-bats.
• Micah Coffey went 5-for-10 with two doubles and four RBIs against the Anteaters.
• The Gophers have team ERA of 7.94.
• The Gophers are the reigning Big 10 Champions and closed out the 2016 season in the College Station Regional with a 36-22 overall record.
• Head Coach John Anderson is in his 36th year with the Gophers and has more than 1,200 career victories.

More in Baseball