Student-athletes at Seattle University are going through their college careers at the school with success in the classroom, as shown in the latest Academic Progress Rates (APR) released by the NCAA Tuesday.

As announced last week, two Redhawk teams received a perfect score of 1000 to earn Public Recognition Awards. The men’s cross country team and the women’s outdoor track and field team both earned the perfect multi-year score for the fourth straight year.

Several Seattle U squads improved on their 2011-12 score from the mark set after the 2010-11 academic year. The men’s basketball team continued its improvement, using a perfect 1000 score in 2011-12 to raise its multi-year APR score to 960. Perfect single-year scores also helped the multi-year totals for men’s golf (993), men’s swimming (980), men’s indoor track and field (992), and men’s outdoor track and field (992).

On the women’s side, women’s cross country (981), women’s golf (975), women’s swimming (995), women’s indoor track and field (994), and women’s volleyball (976) all improved their multi-year APR scores thanks to posting a perfect score of 1000 in 2011-12.

The other Seattle U sports still earned marks significantly above the threshold set by the NCAA in which penalties could be enacted. Baseball posted a score of 980, women’s basketball came in at 955, men’s soccer earned a mark of 953, women’s soccer earned a score of 987, softball came in with a mark of 958, men’s tennis finished with a score of 957, and women’s tennis posted a score of 980.

Every Division I sports team calculates its APR each academic year, based on the eligibility and retention of each scholarship student-athlete. Teams scoring below certain thresholds can face sanctions, such as scholarship losses and restrictions on practice. Rates are based on the past four years’ performance.

With the Western Athletic Conference sponsoring men’s soccer and men’s swimming starting in 2013-14, 19 of Seattle U’s 20 sports will be housed within the WAC next season. Seattle U, along with Idaho and New Mexico State, will remain in the WAC and will be joined by CSU Bakersfield, Chicago State, Grand Canyon, UMKC, UT Pan American, and Utah Valley in the next academic year.

More in Athletics