The Seattle University men’s and women’s swimming teams gathered at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in downtown Seattle for the end-of-the-year banquet Friday, April 26, celebrating the teams’ accomplishments during the 2012-13 season.

The swimmers themselves voted for the Most Valuable Swimmer awards, and they voted for seniors Kevlyn Richards (Gig Harbor, Wash.) and James Gilmore (Eugene, Ore.). Both swimmers posted NCAA “B” cut times and set school records at their respective conference championships, with Richards finishing second in the 100 breaststroke at the WAC Championships while Gilmore finished sixth in the 400 individual medley during the MPSF Championships.

Richards and Gilmore also shared the Most Improved Swimmer awards along with Mackenzie Gant (Richland, Wash.) and Tomas Mendez-Beck (Hillsboro, Ore.). Both Gant and Mendez-Beck posted career-best times throughout the 2012-13 season, with Gant moving into the Seattle U all-time top ten lists in both the 200 individual medley and 400 individual medley and Mendez-Beck setting a school record in the 200 butterfly as well as posting the fourth-fastest time ever in the 100 butterfly.

The Coach’s Awards, based on performances not only in the pool but also in the classroom, in the community, and within the team dynamic, were given to senior Megan Robinson (Salt Lake City, Utah) and sophomore Kyle Moline (Mercer Island, Wash.). Both swimmers were recognized by the coaching staff for their positive attitude, even during the toughest of workouts, as well as their impact on the Redhawk swimming program.

The evening also featured special recognition of the 11 seniors within the swimming program: Owen Bley-Male (Portland, Ore.), Tyler Carriker (Everett, Wash.), Gilmore, Megan Kelley (Las Vegas, Nev.), Rachel Leighter (Eugene, Ore.), Murray Longbotham (Mercer Island, Wash.), Chris Lynch (Seattle, Wash.), Richards, Robinson, Karla Ruff (Seattle, Wash.), and Joe Wertz (Richland, Wash.).

In 2013-14, both men’s and women’s swimming will compete as members of the Western Athletic Conference.

More in W. Swimming