College Sports Madness has announced their Western Athletic Conference Preseason All-Conference teams and four Redhawks were named across the two teams. Bubba Morrow (Auburn, Wash.) and Sarah Petosa (Federal Way, Wash.) were named to the First Team and Lisa Maulden (Maple Valley, Wash.) and Brianna Guerrero (Buena Park, Calif.) were named to the Second Team.

“We are proud to have four representatives on the Preseason All-WAC Team,” said head coach Dan Powers. “Sarah, Brianna, Lisa, and Bubba are going to be a big part of our success in 2013.”

Last season, in the Pacific Coast Softball Conference, Petosa was named PCSC All-Conference Second Team. Petosa and Morrow were also named PCSC First Team All-Mountain Division, with Guerrero and Maulden named PCSC Second Team All-Mountain Division.

All four student-athletes were in the top five in team batting average last season, as Petosa led the Redhawks with a .365 average, recording 20 runs on 54 hits, as well as one double, one triple, and 16 RBIs. Guerrero, Morrow, and Maulden ranked third through fifth on the team in batting average, with .313, .293, and .279, respectively. Morrow was one of two Redhawks to start all 45 contests over the season, and she led the team with six home runs and 31 RBIs.

The full teams are as follows:

Field Player of the Year: Haley Lemons (Texas State)

Pitcher of the Year: Amanda Pridmore (San Jose State)

Freshman of the Year: Rebecca Stokes (UT Arlington)

Coach of the Year: Ricci Woodard (Texas State)

First Team: Amanda Pridmore (San Jose State), Anne Marie Taylor (Texas State), Teri Lyles (UT Arlington), Anna Hernandez (Texas State), Melanie Goff (Louisiana Tech), Bubba Morrow (Seattle U), Christine Thomsen (Utah State), Haley Lemons (Texas State), Michelle Cox (San Jose State), Sarah Petosa (Seattle U), Brooke Baker (Texas State), Malena Padilla (New Mexico State)

Second Team: Haylee Stanton (UTSA), Mandy Harmon (Utah State), Michelle Jones (Louisiana Tech), Lisa Maulden (Seattle U), Megan Low (UTSA), Brianna Guerrero (Seattle U), Courtney Buchman (UTSA), Jessica Garcia (San Jose State), Hailey Froton (Utah State), Rebecca Stokes (UT Arlington), Amber Olive (New Mexico State), Kelsey Dodd (New Mexico State)

This is the program and school’s first season in the WAC. They will open the regular season on February 8-10 at the Red Desert Classic in St. George, Utah. Their first conference series will be March 22-23 at UT Arlington in Arlington, Texas, and their first home conference series will be versus Texas State on March 29-30. Stay tuned to for the latest updates.



More in Softball