DENVER - (Jan. 11) Seattle University landed 35 student-athletes on the 2017 Fall Academic All-Western Athletic Conference (WAC) Teams, released Thursday. Members of men's and women's cross country, men's and women's soccer, and volleyball were recognized by the conference.

To be eligible for the honor, a student-athlete must have completed at least one academic year, have at least a 3.2 cumulative grade-point average and have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's contests. A total of 263 WAC student-athletes were recognized this term.

Women’s soccer tied for the WAC lead with 14 student-athletes on the team. Rachel Bowler, Isabelle Butterfield, Hannah Carrothers, Mackenzie Curry, Natasha Howe, Olivia Ovenell, Jennifer Plummer, Madeline Racine, Jessie Ray, Rosalie Sittauer, Sunshine Soriano, Stephanie Spiekerman, Kelsey Vogel, and Emily Zimmer were named to the squad. Howe, Plummer and Spiekerman are three-time recipients, while Butterfield, Carrothers, Racine, and Zimmer have made two appearances.

Men’s soccer featured eight student-athletes on the team. Nathan Aune, Julian Avila-Good, Cody Buchanan, Josh Greene, Robbie Landeros, Connor Noblat, Sergio Rivas, and Alex Roldan were honored this term. Aune is a repeat selection for SU.

Men’s cross country had six Redhawks earn recognition. Eli Boudouris, Blake Delaney, Tyler Flannery, Jacques Hebert, Collin Olson, and Matthew Seidel each qualified. Flannery and Seidel have been selected three times in their careers, while Boudouris is a two-time choice.

For women’s cross country, the quartet of Johanna Erickson, Thea Foulk, Shannan Higgins, and Olivia Stein made the squad. Erickson is a three-time honoree, while Stein has logged a pair of citations.

Mila Duarte, Shae Harris, and Claire Johnston were the volleyball representatives for SU. All three made an appearance on the academic list last year as well.